Monday, 11 January 2010

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry


How to Create a Cute Vector Bear T-Shirt Design

Posted: 11 Jan 2010 12:00 AM PST

One of the great things about designing with vector shapes is that any design, especially characters, can be developed out of basic shapes, giving a simple and stylized style. Let’s get busy with Adobe Illustrator and design a cute bear character and surrounding scenery in just two colours, ready for use as a cool t-shirt design.

Final t-shirt design

Here’s the design we’ll be building. It features a cute little bear sat peacefully in his natural surroundings, accompanied with the good old saying “Do bear s*it in the woods?”, but with a little twist of course! Often with textile based designs, you’re limited to a set number of available colours, especially if the design is to be printed using the popular screenprinting process. These are usually specified as Pantone swatches, so one initial task would be to open up your Pantone colour libraries from within Illustrator. Click the little options arrow in the Swatches paletter, then select Color Books and Pantone Solid Coated. From here you can select your chosen colour swatches.

Start work in Adobe Illustrator and create a new document. With vector artwork having the advantage of scalability, the initial document size isn’t too important, but a rough size of 11×11 inches will then allow you to tweak the size according to any printer’s templates. Draw a rounded rectangle onto the artboard and adjust the corner radius while dragging with the keyboard cursor keys.

Next, draw a perfect circle to the exact width of the rectangle and overlap the upper most corners. With both items selected, use the Unite option to merge the two together.

Draw a white oval over the two previous items, then use the align palette with center everything up vertically. Giving the main body an extra click while selecting the objects will center all objects to this shape (indicated by the thick blue outline).

Draw an extra circle that overlaps the white oval, duplicate this shape and move it to the opposite side.

Continue drawing circles to produce an eye. Using just a large black circle with two smaller highlights should do the job. Group the eye, then duplicate and move to the other side.

To create the nose, start with the Star Tool, and press the down cursor key while dragging out the shape to limit the points to three. Adjust the shape slightly by moving the end point with the Direct Selection Tool, then add some round corner styling by going to Effect > Stylize > Round Corners.

The bear’s face is coming along nicely; Finish it off with a small oval to form a curious mouth.

Draw a couple of circles, one in black, and a smaller circle in white to form an ear. Press CMD+[ to alter the stacking order of the objects and send the ears to the bottom, so that they peek out from behind the main head outline.

Copy and paste the ear, then go to Object > Transform > Reflect and position on the other side of the head.

Draw a large white oval to form a belly for the bear. Center everything up, then duplicate the main body shape. Send this shape to the top and move it upwards a few nudges, then with the belly oval selected, click the Intersect option from the Pathfinder to trim out the excess.

Draw an arm by starting with a large circle. Use the Direct Selection tool to delete out two of the four points, to leave the path of a quarter-circle. Adjust the stroke to around 25pt and select the round cap option. Send the arm to the bottom of the stack using the shortcut CMD+Shift+[, then duplicate and reflect to the opposite side.

The arms are still made out of paths and strokes, so select each one and go to Object > Expand and select just the stroke option. This converts the outline into a solid shape.

Finish off the bear by drawing a couple of ovals to represent the feet of a bear sat down. Remember to align everything up vertically so that the bear is symmetrical.

Start work on the surrounding scenery with a large green oval and position centrally and at the bottom of the stack.

Using the Pen Tool, roughly draw some abstract tree shapes using a black swatch. Start with the trunk, then create randomly shaped branches.

Continue drawing trunks and branches until you have a couple of tree shaped filling up the background.

Use a range of green circles to represent the leaves and greenery of the trees by positioning them around the branches.

Next, add a little slogan to the design. Here I’ve typed out a fun little message in Futura Extra Bold and converted to outlines (CMD+Shift+O) to enable more advanced editing as if the letters were shapes. Using guides, scale up the words so that their edges are flush.

Move each item into place to finish off the design. Masking off the lower portion of the typography behind the trees helps unite the two elements of the design.

Final bear illustration t-shirt

All that’s left is to select all (CMD+A) and group everything together (CMD+G) ready for exporting the final vector file or PDF.

Download the source file

Friday, 8 January 2010

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry


This Week’s Favourites – Janurary 8th 2010

Posted: 08 Jan 2010 12:00 AM PST

In this week's roundup of creative goodness, we have a great overview of popular blog post formats; a fantastic discussion of the best design related content from 2009; an amazing detailed Illustrator tutorial; a roundup of well designed web design navigation menus; and some simple rules for good typography.

Spyre Studios

Spyre Studios hosts this fantastic overview of the six most common types of blog posts, and highlights the advantages and disadvantages of each. A great article for anyone currently growing their blog.

Visit the article

Design Reviver

2010 is now well underway, but this 2009 roundup from Design Reviver highlights some brilliant posts from last year. If you missed any of them, here’s your chance to catch up on the indespensible knowledge each article shares.

Visit the article

VectorTuts

This in-depth tutorial from VectorTuts highlights some useful Adobe Illustrator techniques and shares the process of creating a curious owl character. Particularly, how gradients can be used to create depth and dimension.

Visit the article

Web Design Ledger

This roundup of website navigation menus from Web Design Ledger provides some fantastic web design inspiration by showcasing a wide collection of various design styles and unique approaches.

Visit the article

Fred Design

Typography is one of the core principles of a great design. This article on Fred Design takes a look at some simple rules that you should follow to inject your designs with good typography. What’s more, these rules can be spread across the whole spectrum of design, whether it’s for print or web.

Visit the article

Wednesday, 6 January 2010

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry


Jungle Animals Vector Pack for Premium Members

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 12:00 AM PST

I've just finished up creating the cutest vector pack I've ever made, and figured it would be a perfect fit as the first premium vector pack for Access All Areas members. The set includes six detailed icon style vector graphics of various jungle creatures, specifically, a Panther, a Lion, an ...

This content is for Access All Areas members only

Access All Areas members have the ability to view exclusive design tutorials and giveaways, discounts on a range of awesome design related products and more! Sound good?! Find out more about becoming a member.

Sunday, 3 January 2010

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry

Spoon Graphics | Latest Blog Entry


20 Basic Illustrator Tutorials Every Beginner Should See

Posted: 03 Jan 2010 11:00 PM PST

Learning a new software application can be a daunting task, especially when tackling an application that’s as deep as Adobe Illustrator! Thankfully there’s a colection of Illustrator veterans who are generous enough to take the time to document the basics, allowing new users to grasp the initial workings and gain a know-how of the tools and core techniques. This collection of hand-picked tutorials cover various tools, and provide plenty of useful hints and tips. Together they form a super handy resource for any beginner looking to get their brains wrapped around Adobe Illustrator.

Learn Illustrator CS3 in 30 Days

View the tutorial

This in-depth 30 day course from Vector Diary is one of the most useful courses out there. What’s more, it’s free!

Illustrator Beginner's Series

View the tutorial

IllustrationInfo’s Illustrator beginner’s series covers the most common tools with insights into their uses.

Adobe Illustrator Guides and Tutorials

View the tutorial

The collection of tutorials and guides from klethegr8 include various hints and tips for all kinds of tools.

Beginner Adobe Illustrator Tutorials

View the tutorial

Posts filed under the Illustrator tag on ShapeShed include some great introductions to most of the important tools and techniques, including blends, rounded edges and the pathfinder.

Illustrator CS4 Blob Brush

View the tutorial

The newly added Blob Brush to Illustrator CS4 opens up doors to new opportunities. Layers Magazine explain more with this useful video tutorial.

Illustrator CS4 Gradients

View the tutorial

Another new feature in CS4 was a bunch of new gradient editing capabilities. Here’s an overview of some of the new ways to create and tweak gradient fills in Illustrator.

Working with Illustrator Art Brushes

View the tutorial

Brushes are an important tool in Illustrator, and come in various styles. This tutorial from Bittbox covers the Art brush, with great examples of how it can be used.

Illustrator Opacity Mask Basics

View the tutorial

Opacity masks are one Illustrator feature that can really come in useful, particularly for those with versions prior to CS4 who don’t have access to the new gradient opacity options.

The Power and Ease of Patterns in Illustrator

View the tutorial

The basic pattern in Adobe Illustrator isn’t anything to get excited about, but when combined with other Illustrator tools, it can result in some amazing effects.

Wacom Settings in Illustrator

View the tutorial

Unsurprisingly, Adobe Illustrator really shines when used for creating illustrations, and no illustrator is complete without a Wacom tablet. Here’s some handy tips for fine tuning your settings.

Quickly Change Fills and Strokes

View the tutorial

Illustrator’s fills and strokes often cause confusion to designers moving from Photoshop. This selection of tips and shortcuts from Vectips gives a clear understanding of how to quickly set them up.

Illustrator’s Pen Tool: The Comprehensive Guide

View the tutorial

The Pen tool is the most important tool to master in Adobe Illustrator, and can unfortunately take quite a lot of practicing to master. Arm yourself with this great insight and knowledge of how it works.

A Comprehensive Guide to the Pathfinder Panel

View the tutorial

The Pathfinder is also a crucial weapon to master in Illustrator. It’s used in almost every Illustrator project you’ll work on, so it’s quite useful to learn how it works.

Tips for Working with the Gradient Mesh Tool In Illustrator

View the tutorial

Gradient Mesh is actually one tool I still need to wrap my head around, but once mastered it can seriously take your Illustrations to the next level with the ability to create photo-realistic artwork.

Illustrator's Blend Tool: A Comprehensive Guide

View the tutorial

The blend tool is one of Illustrator’s most powerful features. This in-depth post focuses entirely on its use, with a large selection of examples and diagrams.

Illustrator's Type Tool: A Comprehensive Introduction

View the tutorial

The Type Tool might not sound like it needs much introduction, but Illustrator also provides some extraordinary type related options. Here’s a handy overview.

A Comprehensive Guide: Illustrator's Paintbrush Tool and Brush Panel

View the tutorial

While the Art brush was covered in a previous tutorial, here’s a general overview of all four types of brushes in Illustrator, with detailed explanation of how to use each one.

The Basics of Clipping Paths and Opacity Masks

View the tutorial

Just like masks in Photoshop, Illustrator uses masks to hide and show various parts of the artwork. Here’s an overview of Clipping and Opacity masks, and how they can be used in a real-world project.

Adobe Illustrator Shortcuts

View the tutorial

These shortcuts aren’t just the keyboard alternatives to popular menu commands, they also open up new options that otherwise aren’t available.

Beginner Illustrator Tutorial – Create a Vector RSS Icon

View the tutorial

If hands-on learning is more your thing, why not try this RSS icon tutorial? It covers many of the basic commands, plus touches on some advanced tools such as the Pathfinder and creating offset paths.